Bobby Gillespie & Jehnny Beth "Utopian Ashes"

Bobby Gillespie & Jehnny Beth "Utopian Ashes"



Primal Scream frontman Bobby Gillespie, alongside solo artist and Savages vocalist Jehnny Beth,  presents this stunning debut solo project collection  - exploring loss, miscommunication and emotional inarticulacy that a married couple experience as they realise that their relationship is breaking down.


‘Utopian Ashes’ draws on the tradition of country soul classics, such as Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris’s ‘Grievous Angel’ and George Jones and Tammy Wynette’s ‘We Go Together’, to deal with the heavy realities of love turning sour. It’s an album for people who have dealt with the inevitable sadness that comes with age and acknowledged the realities of life. There is no sweetening of the pill, but it does achieve what should be the goal of all good art: to make us feel less alone. And while it’s not autobiographical, it channels heartfelt truth from the songwriters’ own experiences.


In addition to Bobby Gillespie and Jehnny Beth, the album features Johnny Hostile (bass) alongside Primal Scream trio Andrew Innes (guitar), Martin Duffy (piano) and Darrin Mooney (drums).




  • Chase It Down
  • English Town
  • Remember We Were Lovers
  • Your Heart Will Always Be Broken
  • Stones Of Silence
  • You Don’t Know What Love Is
  • You Can Trust Me Now
  • Living A Lie
  • Sunk In Reverie


Formats Available


CD - Shop Price£11.99, pre-order for just £11.39

Black Vinyl LP - Shop Price £23.99, pre-order for just £19.79

Clear Vinyl LP - Shop Price £24.99, pre-order for just £22.49


Release Date: Friday 2nd July 2021



Re-opening Tuesday 13th April 2021


Opening Hours:

Tuesday - Saturday 10.00am - 4.00pm

Also open the last Sunday of every Month 10.00am - 2pm

Closed Mondays (Click & Collect available by prior arrangement)

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black

Follow us on

Tallbird Records,

10 Soresby Street,



S40 1JN


Tel: 01246 234548 / 07906 505185