Doves "The Universal Want"



Just two weeks after revealing their first new music in eleven years, Doves break their silence on new album rumours by announcing that their fifth long player.

The Universal Want, will be released on Fri 11 September 2020 on Virgin EMI. Buoyed by refreshed chemistry, restless studio creativity and public reaction to their return, Doves set free the album’s first single, Prisoners, on Thu 09th / July /2020.


Only the second track and first single proper to be revealed, Prisoners forces attention upon itself, not least with the poignancy of Goodwin’s repeated greeting to ‘old friends’, but as an unstoppable, driving tale of caution in a world of unending desire. Produced by Doves with Dan Austin and recorded at the band’s own Frank Bough Sound III studios in North West England, the high heat of its Northern Soul beat is fanned by wiry guitar breaks and cuts of ethereal noise contorting beneath layers of stacked vocals. A statuesque musical statement, Prisoners guides Doves’ second chapter to a peak now within touching distance, the lyrics contrasting to express unease with modern ills.





1.       Carousels

2.       Prisoners

3.       I Will Not Hide

4.       Cathedrals Of The Mind

5.       Silverlake Mother

6.       For Tomorrow

7.       Broken Eyes

8.       Forest House

9.       Teresa

10.   The Universal Want



Shop price CD £11.99- Pre-order for just £11.39

Shop Price Black LP £19.99 - Pre-order for just £17.99

Shop Price Retail Exclusive White LP £23.99 - Pre-order for just £21.59

Shop Price Vinyl Box Set: £84.99  - Pre-order for just £76.49


Release Date:  Friday 11th September 2020



Monday / Tuesday = closed

Weds = 10am - 2pm

Thursday - Saturday = 10am - 4pm



  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black

Follow us on

Tallbird Records,

10 Soresby Street,



S40 1JN


Tel: 01246 234548 / 07906 505185