Elvis Costello "The Boy Named If"

Elvis Costello "The Boy Named If"



On January 14th, 2022, Elvis Costello and The Imposters release, ‘The Boy Named If,’ a new album of urgent, immediate songs with bright melodies, guitar solos that sting and a quick step to the rhythm.


Costello tell us, ”The full title of this record is 'The Boy Named If (And Other Children’s Stories).’  ‘IF,’ is a nickname for your imaginary friend; your secret self, the one who knows everything you deny, the one you blame for the shattered crockery and the hearts you break, even your own."


Produced by Sebastian Krys & Elvis Costello - the album is a collection of thirteen snapshots, “That take us from the last days of a bewildered boyhood to that mortifying moment when you are told to stop acting like a child - which for most men (and perhaps a few gals too) can be any time in the next fifty years," as Costello put it.



1.       Farewell

2.       The Boy if Named

3.       Penelope Halfpenny

4.       The Difference

5.       What If I Can’t Give You Anything But Love

6.       Paint the Red Rose Blue

7.       Mistook Me For a Fool

8.       My Most Beautiful Mistake

9.       Magnificent Hurt

10.   The Man You Love To Hate

11.   Death of Magic Thinking

12.   Trick Out The Truth

13.   Mr Crescent


Formats available


CD - Shop Price £12.99

Limited Purple Vinyl 2 LP -  Shop Price   - Shop Price £30.99



Release Date: 14th January 2022